Minamo (Keiichi Sugimoto and Tetsuro Yasunaga) returns to 12k following 2020’s Superstition where they paried up with singer/songwriter Moskitoo. On Tail of Diffraction the duo joins long-time friend Asuna. A new name to 12k but not to the world of ambient and experimental music where Asuna’s 100 Keyboards has toured stages around the world. Minamo and Asuna have shared the stage many times in concerts and tours over years, however, this is their first recording together.

These artists are well known for their mix of electronic and acoustic instruments. Minamo often employs guitars, melodicas and small percussion instruments and Asuna’s recordings with toy keyboards and reed organs are phenomenal. But on Tail of Diffraction they exchanged instruments for each song and played those they weren’t familiar with, approaching each one with a naiveté that spawned new discoveries. The familiarity of playing live together combined with surprising new instrument combinations resulted in a freshness and excitement much needed to them in a world that has been so shuttered.

There is a soaring, almost optimistic quality to Tail of Diffraction. The timbres are very present and alive. The pads arc through sunlight with glittering gold edges and the guitars are tactile and seem to be exploring hidden possibilities. The final track features Reiko Seizo with a flickering vocal performance that further feeds the idea that this album is a ray of hope.

Visual artist Michiko Fujita, whose work with silk thread that expresses delicate light and shadow, provided the artwork for the album which encompasses both the playfulness and desire to search that Tail of Diffraction so beautifully embodies.

Album Credits

Recorded at Echo and Cloud Studio, Tokyo on 30th January, 2021

Performed by:
Keiichi Sugimoto
Tetsuro Yasunaga

Rieko Seizo (Vocal on Tr. 6)
Mixed by Keiichi Sugimoto and Asuna
Mastered by Taylor Deupree
Artwork by Michiko Fujita
Photo by Kyoko Takahashi




In 1999, the electro-acoustic group Minamo was formed by Keiichi Sugimoto and Tetsuro Yasunaga. In 2000, minamo’s self-released CD-R “wakka” was reissued by the New York label Quakebasket. This release was selected by Matmos as one of best sounds in 2001 in The Wire magazine. In 2001 two new members joined, Yuiichiro Iwashita (guitar) and Namiko Sasamoto (sax, organ), to make the band a quartet. In 2002, first CD album “.kgs” has released by the…

Learn More


Asuna is a Japanese sound artist who has recently been reevaluated in the experimental music and art scene in recent years. Creating experimental music and installation work from a very young age during the late 90’s, he has gone on to become a pioneer within the experimental ambient / drone / improvisation scene in Tokyo, influencing and collaborating with many other Japanese electronic musicians. He has also released composition works a prolific number of albums…

Learn More